School District 230 celebrates student achievements

School District 230 celebrates student achievements

School District 230 celebrates student achievements

Weekly Banner

Celebrating student success as they pursue their own paths!

At the School Board meeting last night we honored a number of outstanding students for achieving excellence in their particular areas of interest. The variety of areas in which students are excelling is a testament to our passion to prepare students for whatever path they choose.

Layth Alkhani
Stagg High School
National Academy of Future Scientists and Technologists Award of Excellence



Enter your email address and

receive ALL of Ray Hanania's columns

Delivered by FeedBurner


Layth was selected to attend the Congress of Future Science and Technology Leaders in Boston where he learned from some of the brightest minds in science including Nobel Prize winners and National Medal award winners. He also met like-minded high school students from around the country. The School Board honored Layth for this outstanding commitment in his pursuits of a medical or STEM related career.

Chloe Pryor, Marita Hrun and Eliza Alanis 
Sandburg High School
Moraine Valley Community College Pastry Competition First Place

Chloe, Marita and Eliza earned first place in the Moraine Valley Pastry competition with their unique cactus flower cake. They recreated the cake on a smaller scale to share with the School Board. As you can see, it was beautiful and delicious! Seniors Chloe and Marita have their sights set on careers as a Chef and Pastry Artist respectively. Sophomore Eliza looks forward to continue to be part of Teacher Lisa Greenhill’s Culinary Dream Team for the rest of her high school career.

Unified Soccer Team
Andrew High School
State Champions

Andrew High School’s Unified Soccer Team brought home a State Championship following a very competitive season. Coaches Phil Dryer (who appeared via video to congratulate the team and thank the School Board for its support), Lori Dee and Jeanann Paczesny were honored along with team members Connor Fin, Corlin Leonard, Emily Pustelnik, Sophia Godette, Erin Tinerella, Gianna Ardolino, Tyler Olson, Katie Cavaretta, Brandon Feagin, JT Morris, Spiro Drikos, Camden Harvey, Alex Drewry, Jacob Gibbons and Erin Kenned.

American Education Week 

As the District celebrates American Education, I am incredibly grateful for the contributions each staff member makes as we strive to provide outstanding learning opportunities for our students. It truly takes the efforts of all to keep our schools performing at peak performance for our students. I am humbled to be able work alongside each of you as we prepare students for their future!

At the School Board meeting, I took the opportunity on behalf of all of us to thank the board for their dedicated volunteer service to providing leadership for District 230. President Richard Nogal, Vice President Melissa Gracias, Secretary Susan Dalton and Members Patrick O’Sullivan, Kate Murphy Peterson, Denis Ryan and Tony Serratore exemplify what school boards should be.

Their commitment to collaborative decision-making, to listening to the voices of teachers and educational support professionals and community members, and to engaging with the larger community through various forums is unique. They actively seek input from stakeholders. They actively champion and support our schools. They actively share their experience with other school boards through presenting at the state-wide conference.

Our Board also has representation on the state level as Denis serves on the Board of Directors for the Illinois Association of School Boards of Directors representing the South Cook Region. A testament to their commitment, Rick, Kate and Melissa have earned Master Board Member status and Tony, Sue and Denis have maintained their Master Board Member status through the Illinois Association of School Boards.

Their volunteer leadership sets the direction for our District through the Successful Schools – Successful Students collaborative goal setting each summer. Their support allows each of us to carry out our role as members of the District 230 family. I thank the School Board, and I thank each of you for your commitment and passion!


Ray Hanania

Ray Hanania is an award-winning columnist, author & former Chicago City Hall reporter (1977-1992). A veteran who served during the Vietnam War and the recipient of four SPJ Peter Lisagor Awards for column writing, Hanania writes weekly opinion columns on mainstream American & Chicagoland topics for the Southwest News-Herald, Des Plaines Valley News, the Regional News, The Reporter Newspapers, and Suburban Chicagoland.  

Hanania also writes about Middle East issues for the Arab News, and The Arab Daily News criticizing government policies in the Israeli-Palestinian conflict.

A critic of mainstream news media bias, Hanania advocates for peace & justice for Israel & Palestine, & the empowerment of Arabs in America. 

"I write about three topics, the Middle East, politics and life in general. I often take my life experiences and offer them in an entertaining way to readers, and I take on the toughest topics like the Israel-Palestine conflict and don't pull any punches about what I feel is fair. But, my priority is always about writing the good story."

Click Here to LISTEN to Hanania's live radio show on 2nd Friday every month 7 AM CST. Click here to listen to Ray's Podcasts. 

His columns are archived here. Hanania was named "Best Ethnic American Columnist" by the New America Media in November 2007, and is the 2009 recipient of the SPJ National Sigma Delta Chi Award for column writing.

Email Ray Hanania at

Suburban Chicagoland

↑ Grab this Headline Animator

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *